Things are changing

And it ain’t just the weather!

The Jewish saying would be ‘shehechiyanu’- you say that when you see/eat/enjoy something new. So, shehechiyanu on this post (it’s been a while) as well as our yard finally getting a much needed makeover.

This is how it started off… looks easy to maintain, right?

house

Originally we thought we’d be able to pull off gardening ourselves. That idea was short lived once we realized how much work it entails as well as our lack of a green thumb. G seemed to think she could carry the burden but all she did was stomp in the leaves.

Our saviors!

IMG_9153[1]

Realizing the situation was grim, we once again shelled out millions (thank you home ownership for stealing all of our money), bit the bullet, and hired gardeners. I will say that they have been a pleasure to work with and even called me to ask whether I liked what they had done and it there was anything I was concerned about. (If you’re looking for gardeners in the Five Towns- Bella’s Flores.)

Hard at work trying to tame our beast of a yard

IMG_9125[1]

Once we had hired gardeners I realized we should probably go all out and buy pretty lights for the yard. After returning a bunch of stuff to Bed Bath and Beyond, I had a lot of credit there. I went on an expedition to Bed Bath with some friends and found the perfect garden lights. Once the gardeners had done their magic, I carefully installed my fancy lights ($19.99 for 6 fancy lights… Can’t beat that!). The lights are beautiful, our garden is less awful, and spring is at our doorstep…. What more can I ask for?

Check out the beauty— (taking pictures at night isn’t the best plan)

IMG_9151[1]

Our yard still needs some love- as in water, sunshine, and possibly reseeding ($$$$$). But G doesn’t care- she wakes up each morning and runs to the back door and yells ‘park park park’. I know this will only get worse once she sees the new swings I ordered.

So, this is exciting! There’s finally construction happening in our house so more updates to come. It’s our biggest transformation yet!!!

Sneak Peek-

IMG_9127[1]

Still to come in our yard-
-sunshine
-watering
-new plants?
-swings!
-patio furniture (at some point)
-SUMMER!!!! 🙂

An ACTUAL after picture… let’s wait for some sunshine and water so that the grass looks green.

Leave a comment